January 3, 2010

  • Resolutions

    Stuff I want to do in the New Year, anyway.

    1) Entertain myself less – reading fiction and magazines, playing computer games etc.
    2) Improve at painting
    3) Improve my Spanish
    4) Make the apartment beautiful
    5) Memorize some more Psalms
    6) Work on Christmas presents/crafts throughout the year so I’m not working feverishly at the end
    7) Be diligent about Spanish with the kids

    I know that if I’m disciplined I can do these things, and if I use the time gleaned from reading and playing less for painting and Spanish, I should automatically make progress. It’s just a matter of remembering that these things are priorities and not re-reading novels or playing Scramble.

Comments (5)

  • Good goals for the New Year.   I didn’t know you painted.  :)

  • I read Donald Miller’s new book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years right before Christmas, and I loved it. He talks about editing your life into a more meaningful story. He put up a post on his blog (donmilleris.com) for New Years about meeting your goals in the course of the narrative you create for your life. Brilliant.

  • Oh, I love the one about working on Christmas presents through the year…  Are you still living in S America?

  • What do you have against playing Scramble?

    Good resolutions.  I resolved to get around to coming up with some resolutions.  So far, no good.

  • Just saw this – GREAT resolutions!! How is it going with keeping them, four months on? :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *