May 18, 2005

  • My Testimony-

    I thought I would try to write out just how
    I became a Christian.

    I was brought up in a small, independant, non-denominational,
    charismatic church. At times when I was a child I would join in the
    worship because I wanted people to think I was spiritual. At times I
    would sit there with my arms crossed, hating God for no reason.

    I was always a pretty good kid. Didn’t disobey  much. Got
    reasonable grades. But when I was in 7th grade I decided to try being
    rebellious. Not like doing drugs, sleeping around rebellious, just
    cutting class and not doing my homework rebellious. “Going with” guys
    my mom didn’t like rebellious. (She  had good reason not to like
    them, mind you.) Of course, rebellion didn’t make me happy. It made me
    pretty depressed.

    Then one night I had a dream, a nightmare, really. This was in the
    early 80′s and the press was always trying to frighten us into
    believing that Reagan was going to start a nuclear war. In my dream,
    there actually was a nuclear war and I died. I woke up scared to death
    and with the conviction that were I to die, I would go to hell. I cried
    and prayed that night and it was hours before I could get back to
    sleep, but though I was under the conviction of sin, I was still
    unsaved.

    A couple of months later the church youth group went to one of those
    big, outdoor festivals. I don’t remember a whole lot about what anyone
    said. There was a guy who spoke a bit, and sang a bit. Then Debbie
    Boone came out and sang “You Light up My Life.” I cried and cried over
    my sin and rebellion. Then, at some point it was as if everything was
    golden. I mean, I just knew there was a change, that I had crossed from
    darkness into light. It was an incredible experience. And that was it,
    I was saved and God did it all. I never made a “decision” or anything
    like that. It was all His work from beginning to end.

Comments (3)

  • That’s the first I hear of your testomony.

    So you are hoping to become members, cool!! Is it an OPC?

    I don’t have much of teaching experience, but I thought  that your plan of reducing Brendan’s math might work. Josiah loves playing on the rug, when he is restless and I put him on the rug he just loves playing with his toys and rolling around. Hope you have a nice day Danielle, :bomb:      Maria:newscoffee:

  • Hey!  Monique has a real hard time with Math too,  so i can sympathize!!!!!!!   (Don’t have any answers but plenty of sympathy!  :purplerolleyes: )

       Wow I never heard your testimony before!  That’s so great.   God uses so many different ways to draw us to Him.  Thanks for sharing.  I’m not forgetting the prayer conversation ,  just struggling with it a little myself with prayer (different aspect) and want to think a little more on it.

            Love ya lots!

                    Jenn

  • Hello, I am Sylvia, I am visiting from Jenn’s blog. I read your profile, you have 6 children, what are their ages? My 2 are 5 1/2 and 2 1/2. I am a SAHM. Better run and tend to the kids.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *